Fortunately configuring Firefox to prompt me where to save files is a very simple process.  You can also change the default location if that’s what you’re after. Here, let me show you how:

How to set the Firefox default download folder or Prompt for a custom location

1.  Open Firefox, then Click the Tools menu.  Under the Tools menu Click Options.

  2.  In the Options window, Click the Main tab.  Under the Downloads Section choose one of the following options:

Always ask me where to save files (This is what I use)Save Files to: and Click Browse to select a custom folder (Some people like downloads to hit their desktop but that’s too messy for me)

  When done just Click OK and the settings should take effect right away, no reboot is required. Very straightforward. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Change Firefox Default Download Folder - 56How to Change Firefox Default Download Folder - 76How to Change Firefox Default Download Folder - 7How to Change Firefox Default Download Folder - 65